4 circular village walks
A new compilation of walks providing
a guided tour through Burwell. Researched and produced
by Burwell History Society
The Domesday Survey of 1086 records the village under different spellings: Burewell, Burwella, Burwelle – later Borewell and sometimes Burwells because the village used to consist of two separate parts. These were later linked by a causeway connecting ‘High Town’, where the industry was primarily quarrying to ‘Low Town’ with its small inland wharf beside the waterway. This flowed through the agricultural fields and peat beds, and was the primary route to the world beyond, connecting directly to the Fenland river network, importing trade goods and exporting local produce. The fen lodes (rivers) were probably Roman canals and the land between was mostly bog until the Burwell Fen Drainage Act of 1846.
Burwell has been described as “a sanctuary for wildlife and ancient memories”. This description still holds true today. And we hope you will enjoy discovering the historical highlights of our interesting village.
Discover the fascinating facts about Burwell – see for yourself the sites where Saxon and Roman remains were found, learn about the discovering of the real skeleton in the closet of one of the public houses and look for the true facts about one of our oldest houses revealed by recent renovations.
Copies of this book are on sale locally – cost £2.95. All proceeds from sales will go towards historical conservation projects in Burwell.